Start here: Aon’s 2027 sophomore mentor program is accepting applications
Aon’s current employer page displays an Apply action for the Sophomore Actuarial Career Discovery Program. The virtual program runs from January through April 2027. Aon lists the application deadline as November 2026, reviews candidates during November and December, and expects program acceptances between December 2026 and January 2027.
| Question | Current employer-published answer |
|---|---|
| Organizer | Aon |
| Program | Sophomore Actuarial Career Discovery Program / Sophomore Mentor Program |
| Current status | Employer page displays Apply |
| Program dates | January 2027 through April 2027 |
| Format | Virtual mentorship and career-discovery program |
| Academic stage | Current college sophomores |
| Graduation window | December 2028 through June 2029 |
| Minimum GPA | 3.0 |
| Preferred majors | Actuarial Science, Mathematics, Statistics, Economics or related; Aon says all majors are welcome to apply |
| Application deadline | November 2026; exact day not published on the reviewed employer page |
| Prior internship requirement | Not stated |
| Program compensation | Not stated |
| Published next step | Direct pipeline to Summer 2028 Actuarial Intern opportunities; selected mentees may be fast-tracked to a final-round interview |
| Guaranteed interview or internship offer | No |
The current page does not publish an exact November closing day. Do not convert “November 2026” into November 1, November 30 or a date copied from an older cycle. Apply once your materials are ready and use the employer page as the timing source of truth.
This is a mentorship and career-discovery program, not a normal internship. Aon does not state participant pay or a stipend on the reviewed page, and it does not state that prior internship experience is required.
Sources[1]
The hard gates are sophomore status, the graduation window and a 3.0 GPA
Aon’s current posting is unusually specific about academic timing. Applicants should be current sophomores graduating between December 2028 and June 2029 and have a GPA of 3.0 or above. If your graduation date falls outside that range, do not assume accumulated credits or a preferred major overrides the published window.
Aon prefers students studying actuarial science, mathematics, statistics, economics or a related field, but explicitly says all majors are welcome to apply. That makes the academic-major rule different from the GPA and graduation requirements: the named majors are preferences, while the posting states the 3.0 and sophomore/graduation conditions as applicant requirements.
The employer page does not publish a prior-internship requirement or a requirement to have passed an actuarial exam. If you have neither, build your application around quantitative coursework, a project, tutoring, a campus role, part-time work or another experience that shows problem solving, communication and follow-through rather than inventing actuarial experience.
Sources[1]
You get an actuarial advisor, consulting exposure and scenario practice
Aon says participants connect with an advisor working in its actuarial field and learn about an actuarial consulting career through one of four solution areas: Health, Wealth, Risk or Reinsurance. The program also includes practice with real-world scenarios and networking with professionals and peers.
That is useful evidence, but it is not the same as completing months of client work. The current page does not promise that every participant leaves with a public portfolio artifact, individually owned case deliverable, score, credential or written performance review.
The durable signal is what you can explain after participating: which actuarial problem you worked through, how you approached the scenario, what you learned from your advisor and which consulting area you now understand better. Keep any confidential or employer-owned material out of a public portfolio unless Aon explicitly permits it.
Sources[1]
Prepare for the November window before Aon publishes an exact day
The safest planning assumption is simple: the employer says November 2026, not a particular date. Have the application ready before the month begins if possible. Aon says its review process runs November through December, so waiting for a guessed late-November cutoff creates avoidable timing risk.
The posting names the qualities Aon wants: collaboration, critical thinking, problem solving, communication, relationship building and leadership. Pick two or three short examples where your own action is easy to verify. A quantitative class project can cover analytical reasoning; a club, job or volunteer role can cover communication and relationships.
Do not force a prior finance or insurance internship into the story if you do not have one. The program exists before the Summer 2028 internship stage. A clean sophomore application can show readiness through coursework, projects and responsibility while being precise about what you have not yet done.
Sources[1]
“Fast-tracked to a final round” applies to selected mentees, not everyone
Aon describes the mentor program as a direct pipeline to Summer 2028 Actuarial Intern opportunities. Its strongest recruiting language is narrower: at the end of the program, selected mentees may be fast-tracked to a final-round interview for consideration for the intern program.
There are two filters in that sentence. You first need to be selected for the mentor program, and later Aon decides which mentees receive the fast-track opportunity. Even a final-round interview is still consideration for an internship, not an offer.
Aon also asks candidates to choose location preferences aligned with their Summer 2028 internship interests even though the mentor program itself is virtual. Treat that location choice as early recruiting information, not proof that a later internship seat is reserved in that office.
Sources[1]
After the program, label the relationship as mentorship and discovery
If you complete the program, a clean resume label is “Aon Sophomore Actuarial Career Discovery Program — Mentee” or “Participant,” using the title that matches your actual acceptance materials. Do not call yourself an Aon actuarial intern unless you later hold a separate internship.
Under the program, describe an actual scenario, discussion or learning outcome that you personally completed. Avoid claiming client work, employment, a fast-track interview or an internship conversion unless that later step actually happened to you.
Keep applying elsewhere while the mentorship runs. The strongest use of Aon’s program is as an early actuarial signal, advisor relationship and possible recruiting accelerator while you continue building quantitative evidence for Summer 2028 roles.
Sources[1]