Eleven early-career routes, coded by the GPA rule the primary source actually publishes

This table answers a narrow question: what GPA rule does the current program page actually publish for a route that reaches first-year or second-year students? It does not estimate an admissions cutoff, convert a competitive profile into an eligibility rule, or assume that an employer-wide internship policy applies to a separate summit or discovery program.

Freshman and sophomore program GPA rules — observed September 22, 2026
ProgramAcademic stagePublished GPA ruleEvidence codeCurrent / next application stateSources
Valero Freshman Engineering Summit & ScholarshipCurrent college freshmenMinimum 3.0 GPA on a 4.0 scaleSTRICT_MINIMUM2027 applications Jan. 4–Feb. 10; Summit May 18–21
DOE Science Undergraduate Laboratory Internships (SULI)Undergraduates after at least one matriculated term; freshmen can qualify if credit rules are metMinimum cumulative 3.0; DOE FAQ says 2.95 rounds to 3.0 while 2.94 does notSTRICT_MINIMUMSummer 2027 application opens Oct. 14, 2026; due Jan. 6, 2027 at 5 p.m. ET
DOE Community College Internships (CCI)Community/two-year college students after at least one matriculated termMinimum cumulative 2.7; below 3.0 requires a GPA waiver statementSTRICT_MINIMUM_WITH_WAIVERSpring 2027 is open through Sep. 30; Summer 2027 opens Oct. 14
A&F Co. Corporate / Design Sophomore Summit — Summer 2027Bachelor’s-degree sophomoresMinimum 3.0 cumulative GPASTRICT_MINIMUMEmployer postings expose applications; exact 2027 event dates are to be released in Spring 2027
Girls Who Invest Scholars Program — 2027College first-years and sophomores in the published graduation rangeNo minimum GPA; holistic reviewNO_MINIMUMOpen; final application deadline Oct. 15, 2026
MLT Career Prep — 2029 cohortCollege sophomores graduating in the published 2028–29 windowNo minimum GPA; MLT says competitive applicants have at least a 3.0 cumulative GPANO_MINIMUM_BENCHMARKApplication is open on the reviewed program page
BNY Freshman Jumpstart — 2027First-year bachelor’s students graduating Dec. 2029 or May 2030Numeric GPA requirement not stated on the reviewed pre-internship pageNOT_STATEDAccepting registrations Jan. 11, 2027
BNY Sophomore Summit — 2027Second-year bachelor’s students graduating Dec. 2028 or May 2029Numeric GPA requirement not stated on the reviewed pre-internship pageNOT_STATEDAccepting applications Jan. 11, 2027
Jane Street FTTPFirst-year undergraduates in relevant STEM studyNumeric GPA requirement not stated on the reviewed FTTP pageNOT_STATEDCurrent page offers notification for upcoming sessions
Fidelity FidHacksFull-time first-year college studentsNumeric GPA requirement not stated on the reviewed career-discovery pageNOT_STATEDCurrent page offers notification for upcoming FidHacks events
Naval Research Enterprise Internship Program (NREIP) — 2027Rising sophomores or later students who meet the program’s enrollment rulesNumeric GPA requirement not stated; selection considers academic achievementNOT_STATED2027 applications Sep. 15–Nov. 30, 2026

The coding is intentionally literal. STRICT_MINIMUM means the source names a numeric floor that can make an applicant ineligible. NO_MINIMUM means the organizer explicitly says there is no GPA minimum. NO_MINIMUM_BENCHMARK means there is no formal minimum but the organizer separately gives a competitive GPA benchmark. NOT_STATED means the reviewed program page does not name a numeric GPA requirement. CCI gets its own STRICT_MINIMUM_WITH_WAIVER code because 2.7 is the eligibility floor while applicants below 3.0 must also submit a waiver statement.

The observation date is September 22, 2026. Program rules can change by cycle. Recheck the primary application page before submitting.

Sources[1][2][3][4][5][6][7][8][9][10][11][12][13][14]

The dataset has four hard-floor routes, two explicit no-minimum routes and five silent-on-GPA routes

Four of the 11 rows publish a numeric eligibility floor. Valero and A&F use 3.0. SULI also uses 3.0 and is unusually precise about rounding: its FAQ says a 2.95 is eligible because it rounds to 3.0, while 2.94 is not. CCI uses the lowest formal floor in this sample at 2.7, but applicants below 3.0 must submit a waiver statement explaining the circumstances and how participation could improve academic performance.

Girls Who Invest and MLT Career Prep explicitly remove a hard GPA cutoff, but they should not be collapsed into the same admissions message. GWI says there is no minimum GPA and describes holistic review. MLT also says there is no minimum, then adds that competitive applicants have at least a 3.0 cumulative GPA. A student at 2.9 is therefore formally eligible for Career Prep, but the published benchmark is still relevant to application strategy.

Five routes do not state a numeric program-specific GPA requirement on the reviewed page: BNY Freshman Jumpstart, BNY Sophomore Summit, Jane Street FTTP, Fidelity FidHacks and NREIP. That does not justify labeling any of them “no GPA required.” NREIP is the clearest example: the program page says academic achievement is part of selection even though it does not name a numeric floor.

Sources[1][2][3][5][7][8][9][10][11][12][13][14]

“Not stated” is different from “no minimum”

A missing number on a program page is an evidence boundary, not an eligibility promise. BNY’s current pre-internship page publishes class-year and graduation-date rules for Jumpstart and Sophomore Summit but no numeric GPA requirement for either program. BNY has other internship materials with GPA rules; importing those rules into these separate pre-internship programs would be an unsupported merge of two different recruiting surfaces.

Jane Street FTTP is similar. The page explicitly says prior finance knowledge is not required and describes the first-year audience, but it does not publish a GPA cutoff. That supports a statement about finance background, not a statement that GPA never matters in selection.

Fidelity’s FidHacks page identifies full-time first-year students as the eligible audience and describes the hackathon and possible fast-track consideration for a Summer 2027 technology internship. It does not name a GPA floor. NREIP names academic achievement as a selection factor without publishing a numeric threshold. In all four cases, NOT_STATED preserves what the source can and cannot prove.

Sources[11][12][13][14]

What to do if your GPA is below 3.0

First, separate hard ineligibility from a weaker competitive profile. A 2.9 does not meet Valero’s, SULI’s or A&F’s published 3.0 floor. For CCI, however, 2.9 clears the 2.7 eligibility floor and triggers the required waiver statement. For MLT Career Prep, 2.9 remains formally eligible because there is no minimum, although it falls below the program’s published competitive benchmark.

Second, do not self-reject from a NOT_STATED program solely because another program uses 3.0. Check the live application form and program FAQ for any rule that is not visible on the public overview. If the program still does not publish a threshold, concentrate on the selection evidence it does name: technical work, research fit, leadership, communication, a case exercise, or academic achievement in context.

Third, treat GPA as one constraint in the zero-to-one sequence. If a hard cutoff blocks one route, build a project, research contribution, competition submission, paid campus role, micro-internship or another selective program that you can enter now. The point is not to hide the transcript. It is to add credible evidence while you wait for more completed coursework to change the cumulative average.

Sources[1][2][5][7][10][14]

Methodology: program-specific primary sources, one observation date and no inferred cutoffs

Observation date: September 22, 2026. This is a bounded comparison of 11 U.S.-relevant freshman and sophomore routes with current or recurring primary-source program pages. It is not a census of every early-career program. The sample was built to compare different relationship types: summits, education programs, hackathons, discovery programs and paid research internships.

A numeric rule is coded only when the reviewed primary source publishes it for that specific program. An employer’s general internship GPA rule is not automatically assigned to a separate freshman or sophomore event. A competitive benchmark is not converted into an eligibility minimum. Silence is coded NOT_STATED rather than NO_MINIMUM.

The denominator is 11 program routes. A&F Corporate and Design Sophomore Summits are one row because the GPA rule and academic stage are identical on the two current postings; BNY Jumpstart and Sophomore Summit are separate rows because they are distinct programs for different academic stages. The counts in this page therefore describe this exact sample and should not be generalized to all employers.

Before using the table for an application decision, reopen the linked primary source. Deadlines, application forms and eligibility language can change after the observation date.

Sources[1][2][3][4][5][6][7][8][9][10][11][12][13][14]