Ten routes, coded by the applicant-geography rule the program actually publishes

This table isolates where a student must study, live or be enrolled. It does not infer an applicant restriction from the city where an event happens, and it does not convert citizenship or employment-sponsorship rules into school-geography rules.

School and home geography across 10 early-career routes — checked September 23, 2026
ProgramPublished applicant geography ruleDelivery / host locationEvidence codeCurrent timing or statusSources
Microsoft DiscoveryRedmond: live and attend high school within 50 miles of Redmond plus the published Microsoft-sponsored-organization condition. Atlanta: attend Atlanta Public Schools or a school in Clayton, Cobb, DeKalb, Douglas, Fulton or Gwinnett County.Paid, full-time onsite internship in Redmond, Washington or Atlanta, GeorgiaLOCAL_SCHOOL_AND_RESIDENCE_GATEStanding page says applications open in early February; exact dates currently displayed are explicitly 2026 dates, so no 2027 date is inferred
Stanford Mayfield Fellows Program — 2027Active Stanford undergraduate or co-terminal student; the program also requires summer residence in the Bay Area.Spring and autumn program work at Stanford plus a paid full-time approved startup internship; summer company may be Bay Area-based or remote while the fellow resides in the Bay AreaSPECIFIC_UNIVERSITYApplications open; deadline October 25, 2026
LaserHacks — 2027Currently enrolled Irvine Valley College student.In-person hackathon at Irvine Valley CollegeSPECIFIC_INSTITUTIONFebruary 5–7, 2027; Apply Today route is live
Girls Who Invest Scholars — 2027College first-year or sophomore enrolled in or transferring to an accredited four-year U.S. or U.S.-style institution.Education program with separate Online Intensive and selective Summer Intensive / internship-track structuresUS_OR_US_STYLE_INSTITUTION2027 priority deadline September 15, 2026; final deadline October 15, 2026
JPMorganChase Career.edYOU AcademyCollege sophomore studying in the United States.Virtual, semester-long educational programSTUDYING_IN_USCurrent registration is closed
Citi Freshman DiscoveryFirst-year student in a four-year bachelor’s program at a U.S.-accredited institution.Three-day U.S. virtual pre-internship programUS_ACCREDITED_INSTITUTIONStanding page describes May delivery and late-March / early-April application timing; no new cycle date is invented here
Citi Spring InsightStudents both within and outside the UK are explicitly eligible under the published academic-stage rule.Four-day onsite program in LondonOUTSIDE_HOST_COUNTRY_EXPLICITLY_ALLOWEDStanding page describes spring delivery and October / November application timing
PIMCO PrepSessions are open to students globally, with content tailored to each region.Live webinar series with regional sessionsGLOBAL_OPENAPAC October 2026 listed as coming soon; EMEA and Americas April 2027 listed as coming soon
BlackRock Spring Insight Event — EMEA 2027No school-country or home-residence gate is stated on the reviewed event posting; the posting does publish its academic-stage rule.Onsite event in London or EdinburghHOST_LOCATION_ONLY_NO_SCHOOL_GEOGRAPHY_GATE_STATEDDeadline December 4, 2026; event in April 2027
PGIM 2027 Real Estate Sophomore ExternshipAccredited bachelor’s enrollment is stated; no school-country or home-residence gate is stated on the reviewed externship posting.Three-day onsite externship in Newark, New Jersey; travel and lodging are provided for selected participantsHOST_LOCATION_ONLY_NO_SCHOOL_GEOGRAPHY_GATE_STATEDJanuary 5–7, 2027

LOCAL_SCHOOL_AND_RESIDENCE_GATE means the program names a local school or residence boundary. SPECIFIC_UNIVERSITY and SPECIFIC_INSTITUTION mean enrollment at one institution is itself the access gate. US_OR_US_STYLE_INSTITUTION, STUDYING_IN_US and US_ACCREDITED_INSTITUTION are broader school-system or study-location rules. OUTSIDE_HOST_COUNTRY_EXPLICITLY_ALLOWED and GLOBAL_OPEN are affirmative broad-access statements. HOST_LOCATION_ONLY_NO_SCHOOL_GEOGRAPHY_GATE_STATED means the reviewed source names where the program happens but does not publish a separate school/home-geography restriction.

The dataset was assembled September 23, 2026 from nine current primary-source records. Reopen the live application before relying on any row because school lists, locations and cycle rules can change.

Sources[1][2][3][4][5][6][7][8][9]

Virtual does not mean globally eligible

JPMorganChase Career.edYOU is virtual but the current employer page describes the audience as college sophomores studying in the United States. Citi Freshman Discovery is also virtual, yet its current page requires a first-year student in a four-year bachelor’s program at a U.S.-accredited institution.

PIMCO Prep is the useful counterexample: PIMCO explicitly says sessions are open to students globally and that content is tailored to each region. The delivery format does not determine the applicant geography. The source language does.

For remote or virtual programs, check the school-country and residence language before treating the opportunity as borderless.

Sources[5][6][7]

An onsite host city is not automatically an applicant-geography restriction

Citi Spring Insight is held in London, but Citi explicitly says students both within and outside the UK can be eligible under the published academic-stage rule. Event location and school location are therefore separate fields.

BlackRock’s 2027 Spring Insight posting names London and Edinburgh as event locations and publishes its graduation-year rule, but the reviewed posting does not state a school-country or home-residence gate. PGIM’s Real Estate Sophomore Externship similarly names Newark and accredited bachelor’s enrollment without publishing a separate school-country or residence condition on the reviewed posting.

HOST_LOCATION_ONLY_NO_SCHOOL_GEOGRAPHY_GATE_STATED does not mean globally open. It means the reviewed primary source does not supply the extra geography restriction, so the page refuses to invent one.

Sources[6][8][9]

Microsoft, Stanford and Irvine Valley College have the narrowest institution or local-access gates in this sample

Microsoft Discovery makes geography an early rejection screen. Redmond applicants need both the 50-mile live-and-attend-school boundary and the published Microsoft-sponsored-organization condition. Atlanta uses a named public-school and county-district list. A strong résumé cannot repair an applicant who falls outside those program gates.

Stanford Mayfield is institution-specific rather than city-open: applicants must be active Stanford undergraduate or co-terminal students, and accepted fellows must satisfy the program’s Bay Area summer-residence rule. LaserHacks is narrower still at the institution level because its current page limits eligibility to students currently enrolled at Irvine Valley College.

Check these hard access rules before spending time on essays, projects or interview preparation.

Sources[1][2][3]

Use four separate location checks before you apply

1. Applicant geography: where must you study, live or be enrolled? A named university, school district, country of study or local radius is an eligibility gate.

2. Program location: where does the event, internship or externship happen? This can create travel or relocation cost without restricting where applicants attend school.

3. Immigration and work authorization: citizenship, lawful-permanent-resident status and sponsorship rules are separate from school geography. Do not merge them into one “U.S. only” label.

4. Travel support: an onsite program can accept non-local students yet still leave travel costs to the participant, or it can explicitly cover travel and lodging. Check that after eligibility.

Methodology: applicant geography is coded separately from host location and immigration status

This is a bounded 10-route comparison, not a census of early-career programs. The sample intentionally mixes internships, insight programs, an externship, a fellowship, a webinar and a hackathon so delivery format can be separated from applicant geography.

A program is coded with a school or home-geography rule only when the reviewed primary source publishes one. A named event city is not converted into a local-student restriction. Conversely, virtual delivery is not converted into global eligibility. Where a source is silent, the evidence code says not stated rather than globally open.

Nine primary records were checked September 23, 2026. The Citi record supports two separately coded programs on the same current employer page. Counts refer only to these 10 rows: six publish a school, institution or home-geography rule; two explicitly broaden access beyond the host country or globally; and two publish an onsite host location without a school/home-geography gate on the reviewed page. Do not generalize those proportions beyond this dataset.

Sources[1][2][3][4][5][6][7][8][9]